2001 Science-Engineering-Technology Congressional Visits Day

DRAFT Briefings Schedule

Tuesday, May 1, 2001

Renaissance Hotel, 999 9th Street, NW
Metro Stop: Gallery Place -- 9th & G Sts. entrance
1:00 - 2:30 pm   Administration Briefing
  • Dan Goldin, Administrator, NASA
  • Joe Bordogna, Deputy Director, National Science Foundation
  • Kevin Kolevar,  Department of Energy,  Senior Policy Advisor
  • Karen Brown, Acting Director, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Marcus Peacock, Associate Director, Office of Management & Budget
 2:30 - 3:00 pm    Coffee Break
3:00 - 5:00 pm   Congressional Briefing
  Welcome & Acknowledgments
The Protocol of Congressional Visits 
Federal R&D Recap
The Insider's View Panel 
  • David Goldston, Majority Staff Director, House Committee on Science
  • Robert Palmer, Minority Staff Director, House Committee on Science
  • Bryan Hannegan, Staff Scientist, Senate Energy & Natural Resources Committee
Remarks by Rep. Ralph Hall (D-TX), Ranking Member, House Science Committee

Closing Remarks and Logistics Discussion 

Room 216, Hart Senate Office Building
Metro Stop: Union Station
5:30 - 7:30 pm Reception and Awards Ceremony
Hosts: CTP and SETWG Member Organizations
Presentation of George E. Brown Jr. Science-Engineering-Technology Leadership Award to 
  • The Honorable Christopher Bond (R-MO)
  • The Honorable Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)

Wednesday, May 2, 2001

Caucus Room, Russell Senate Office Building (3rd floor)
Metro Stop: Union Station
8:00 - 9:30 am CVD Breakfast Briefing
8:00 am Continental Breakfast
8:30 Remarks by Rep. Sherwood Boehlert (R-NY), Chairman, House Science Committee
9:00 Team Logistics
9:30 am - 5:00 pm Congressional Visits 

Posted April 18, 2001; Last revised May 2, 2001