1999 Science-Engineering-Technology Congressional Visits Day

DRAFT Briefings Schedule

Wednesday, April 21, 1999

Office of Thrift Supervision, 1700 G Street, NW
Metro Stop: Farragut West -- 17th and I St. entrance
1:00 - 3:00 pm Administration Briefing (security information must be provided in advance)
Host: Dr. Neal Lane, Science Advisor to the President
  • Dr. Delores Etter, Deputy Director for Defense Research and Engineering, Department of Defense
  • Dr. Ernest Moniz, Under Secretary of Energy
  • Dr. Rita Colwell, Director, National Science Foundation
  • Mr. Gary Bachula, Acting Under Secretary of Commerce for Technology
  • Mr. Dan Goldin, Administrator, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • Dr. Marvin Cassman, Director, National Institute of General Medical Sciences

AAAS Auditorium (1200 New York Avenue NW, 2nd floor)
Metro Stop: Metro Center -- 12th and G St. entrance
3:30 - 5:30 pm Congressional Briefing
3:30 pm Welcome & AcknowledgmentsTaffy Kingscott (IBM) and Debbie Rudolph (IEEE)
3:40 Remarks by Rep. Connie Morella (R-MD), Chair, House Science Subcommittee on Technology
4:20Federal R&D Recap Al Teich (AAAS)
4:30The Insider's View Panel Pete Leon (AAES)
  • Bill Bonvillian, Office of Sen. Joseph Lieberman (D-CT)
  • Elizabeth Prostic, Senate Commerce, Science & Transportation Committee
  • Jean Fruci, House Science Committee
  • David Goldston, Office of Rep. Sherwood Boehlert (R-NY)
5:10The Protocol of Congressional Visits Kathi Ream (CCR)
5:20Closing Remarks and Logistics Discussion David Applegate (AGI) and Taffy Kingscott (IBM)

Rayburn House Office Building Foyer
Metro Stop: Capitol South
6:00 - 8:00 pm Reception and Awards Ceremony
Hosted by CTP and SETWG Member Organizations
6:20 pm Presentation of Science-Engineering-Technology Leadership Awards to
  • The Honorable George Brown (D-CA)
  • The Honorable Pete Domenici (R-NM)
  • The Honorable Joseph Lieberman (D-CT)

Thursday, April 22, 1999

B339-340 Rayburn House Office Building
Metro Stop: Capitol South
8:00 - 9:30 am CVD Breakfast Briefing
8:00 am Continental Breakfast
8:30 Remarks by Rep. James Sensenbrenner (R-WI), Chair, House Science Committee
9:00 Team Logistics Debbie Rudolph (IEEE)

9:30 am - 5:00 pm Congressional Visits

Last Revised April 20, 1999