AGI Home | About AGIContact UsSearch 

Printable Version

FY 2008 Department of Commerce Appropriations (11-6-06)

Untitled Document


The primary interest for the geoscience community in the Department of Commerce appropriations is the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

Formed by President Nixon on October 3, 1970 as a part of the Commerce Department, NOAA was established to, in Nixon's words, serve a national need "...for better protection of life and property from natural hazards...for a better understanding of the total environment...[and] for exploration and development leading to the intelligent use of our marine resources..." Of particular interest to geoscientists is NOAA research conducted through the Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research (OAR), which is the driving force behind NOAA environmental products and services that protect life and property and promote sustainable economic growth.

Founded in 1901, NIST is a non-regulatory federal agency within the U.S. Commerce Department's Technology Administration. NIST's mission is to develop and promote measurement, standards, and technology to enhance productivity, facilitate trade, and improve the quality of life. NIST carries out its mission in four cooperative programs including the NIST Laboratories, the Baldrige National Quality Program, the Manufacturing Extension Partnership and the the Advanced Technology Program. NIST is also the lead agency for the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program.

Fiscal Year (FY) 2008 Department of Commerce Appropriations Process


FY07 Enacted

House Action

Senate Action

Department of Commerce (total)


NOAA (total)


National Weather Service


National Ocean Service


Oceanic & Atmospheric Research


-- Climate Research


Education Programs


NIST (total)


National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP)


President's Request for FY 2008


House Action


The House of Representatives considers funding for the Department of Commerce in the Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies Subcommittee of the House Appropriations Committee. Chaired by Representative Mollohan (D-WV), other members include Representatives Kennedy (D-RI), Fattah (D-PA), Ruppersberger (D-MD), Schiff (D-CA), Honda (D-CA), DeLauro (D-CT), Price (D-NC), Obey (D-WI), Frelinghuysen (D-NJ), Culberson (R-TX), Rogers (R-KY), Latham (D-IA), Aderholt (D-AL), and Lewis (D-CA).

Senate Action


The Senate considers funding for the Department of Commerce in the Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies Subcommittee of the Senate Appropriations Committee. Chaired by Senator Mikulski (D-MD, other members include Senators Inouye (D-HI), ), Leahy (D-VT), Kohl (D-WI), Harkin (D-IA), Dorgan (D-ND), Feinstein (D-CA), Reed (D-RI), Lautenberg (D-NJ), Shelby (R-AL), Gregg (R-NH), Stevens (R-AK), Domenici (R-NM), McConnell (R-KY), Hutchison (R-TX), Brownback (R-KS), and Alexander (R-TN).

Conference Committee Action

Appropriations Hearings


Sources: Department of Commerce, NOAA website and budget office, NIST website, and NEHRP Coalition documents .

Please send any comments or requests for information to the AGI Government Affairs Program at

Contributed by Linda Rowan, AGI Government Affairs Staff, and Erin Gleeson, AGI/AAPG Spring 2007 Intern.

Last Update February 12, 2007.



  Information Services |Geoscience Education |Public Policy |Environmental
Publications |Workforce |AGI Events

agi logo

© 2016. All rights reserved.
American Geosciences Institute, 4220 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22302-1502.
Please send any comments or problems with this site to:
Privacy Policy