Contact: Julie Jackson (703) 379-2480
November 12, 2000


RENO, NV — The American Geological Institute (AGI) will induct Larry D. Woodfork as President for 2001 during its reception and awards ceremony on Tuesday, Nov. 14, at the annual meeting of the Geological Society of America (GSA), an affiliated member society. The ceremony takes place from 5:30-7:30 p.m. in the Carson Room of the Reno Hilton Hotel in Reno, Nevada. He will begin a one-year term of office.

 The 2001 Executive Committee that Woodfork will lead includes President-Elect Steven M. Stanley, professor in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences at The Johns Hopkins University; Treasurer L. Stanley Pittman, exploration geologist with Petroleum Logistics Corp. in Dallas, Texas; Secretary John Steinmetz, State Geologist of Indiana and Director of the Indiana Geological Survey; Member-at-Large Lawrence P. Wilding, professor in the Department of Soil and Crop Sciences at Texas A&M University; Member-at-Large Rhea L. Graham, former director of the U.S. Bureau of Mines and a science education advocate in New Mexico; Member-at-Large Joseph A. Briskey, researcher at the U. S. Geological Survey; and Past President Russell G. Slayback, Chairman of the Board of the environmental consulting firm, Leggette, Brashears & Graham.

 Woodfork is Director and State Geologist of the West Virginia Geological and Economic Survey. He is also adjunct professor of petroleum engineering and professor of geology in the Department of Geology and Geography at West Virginia University in Morgantown. His 35 years of professional experience include geologic field work for the California Company (now Chevron) in the northern Rocky Mountains, research in industrial minerals at the Indiana Geological Survey, and work as an exploration geologist for the South Texas Division of Humble Oil and Refining Company (now Exxon).

 Woodfork is also active in many of AGI’s affiliated societies. He served as President of the Association of American State Geologists in 1999. In 1983, he was President of the American Institute of Professional Geologists and was AIPG’s first recipient of the Martin C. Van Couvering Award for distinguished service in 1979. As a member of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG), Woodfork has served on numerous committees and was President of the Eastern Section in 1979-1980. The Eastern Section, AAPG, presented him with its highest award, the John T. Galey Memorial Medal, in 1996, to honor his contributions to the field of petroleum geology.

 In recognition of his scientific and professional contributions to petroleum geology and the West Virginia oil and natural gas industry, Woodfork was named “West Virginia Oil and Gas Man of the Year” in 1991. That same year, he was honored with a Faculty Citation from Vincennes University and received the Richard Owen Memorial Award as the outstanding alumnus of the Department of Geosciences at Indiana University.

Woodfork is the author or coauthor of many professional publications, abstracts, maps, and journal articles covering the fields of energy resources, stratigraphy, petroleum geology, environmental geology, and the history of geology. He received a Distinguished Service Award in 1995 from the Department of Geology and Geography at West Virginia University. Woodfork received the highest awards granted by the states of West Virginia and Kentucky in 1997 when he was named a “Distinguished West Virginian” by Governor Cecil H. Underwood and was commissioned a “Kentucky Colonel” by Governor Paul E. Patton.

AGI Home | News | BookCenter | Careers | Data | Directory | Education | Environment | GeoRef | Geotimes | Govt. Affairs | Members | Publications

agi logo© 2000 American Geological Institute. All rights reserved.